Feels good to sew again!

Whew, it’s been a while! This summer has been busy with so many things with the kids, I decided that the sewing needed to take a back seat. But boy, I did miss it! Oh, I did a few things here and there. I did make some swim diapers, which have been of great use all summer! I wish I would have started sewing before Grace was born, I could have made her diapers. Next time….;)

So, I’ve been wanting to dive into the world of knits. I finally took the plunge. I ordred a bunch, okay a ton, of really cute knit fabric from Girl Charlee. They have some of the cutest knit fabric on line that I have found. It was hard cleaning out my “shopping cart” before I checked out! So, next was to find a new great pattern. And I did just that…of course on Etsy. But, I don’t know how I have missed this woman’s store and patterns before…they are absolutely adorable and JUST what I have been looking for! (she is also another homeschool mama) Check her stuff out…her store is called Lilygiggle.

So, I ordered a two legging patterns, which she promptly sent. AND she went out of her way to let me know I could pick another pattern, since there was a special that I didn’t realize. Woohoo!! So, I picked out a super cute bubble tank.

I ran to Walmart to buy some knit to practice on. One thing about knit fabric I don’t understand…you can’t find it hardly anywhere. Super annoying. Anyway, Walmart has had the same jersey knit fabric on clearance for an eternity, so I picked that up.

Sewing on the knit went way better than I anticipated. Took some practice, but I think I have it figured out. Once it clicks, it clicks.

So, here is the practice outfit. Please don’t mind my model…she was NOT in the picture taking mood. All because I wouldn’t let her wear her pink cowboy boots for the “photoshoot”. I finally caved. πŸ˜‰

Please mom…these boots go with anything!!

 

Okay, feeling better. These boots were made for walking!!

 

Bubble tank minus cranky girl.

Please, take note of the boots. Then, pretend you didn’t see them.

Today, I had more “practice” fabric, so I made another tank, but made it longer so she could wear it as a dress. Not loving it…but that’s okay. She does. And it’ll fit her next her perfectly. πŸ˜€

Longer version of tank…and a crabby girl once again. πŸ˜‰ It was nap time though. ❀

 

