The Bloody Bag

Today was interesting. In most ways, good interesting. πŸ˜‰ I was able to get my sewing machine this past week and today was the first day I had to make something. Let me just say, I LOVE this machine. It’s soooo much easier to sew on, I really can’t believe it. Makes everything so much easier. Big thanks to my awesome hubby for buying me it for “his” birthday! πŸ˜‰ I’m very blessed! πŸ™‚

So, since I had my fancy shmancy new machine, I thought it was due time to try my hand at a “real” pattern. Nothing downloaded, no tutorial, no video. Just a pattern, this one to be exact. A sweet girl from church made this purse and I’ve told her how cute it was several times… well she brought me the pattern to borrow. How sweet, right?! Well, that meant I had to make it.

It was the first time I’ve “gathered” on any project, and that was really fun actually! I know, doest sound fun, but it was! Ha! But, back to using a real pattern…it was so much easier than I feared! I know for certain, having made several purses already helped, but still, I thought I’d be lost with out my tutorial and detailed instructions. Now, I won’t be so scared in the future to buy a pattern I’d like to try.

Minus a few bloody injuries, the bag turned out pretty good. Not nearly as cute as Allissa’s bag at church, but decent. The gathering adds a nice touch, different than pleats which is all I’ve done previously.

What injuries you wonder…I sliced my finger with the rotary cutter…pretty good too! Got that all bandaged up only to stab my other finger with the exacto knife putting in the magnetic snaps. :/ Adam was there to witness that brilliant show! Ugh, not sure what my problem was today!

So, here is the bag! Recognize the fabric? Yeah….I had 4 yards of this stuff so I needed to get rid of it! Glad it’s gone finally…now I can buy more! πŸ˜‰

20120330-215653.jpg

5 thoughts on “The Bloody Bag

  1. you are so funny! I love reading your posts. I’m glad you ventured out with a real pattern, good for you! I would never suggest the pattern I used for the girls’ purses. It was horribly written. I had such a hard time figuring everything out. I got it to work, but it took a lot of dissecting Purchased does not equal good!

  2. This one happened to be a Simplicity. It could have been any of them though, they all have poorly written patterns IMO. I was talking about this to the folks at JoAnnes one time, how the pattern people have really cut back on their directions, not really sure why.
    I still use my handy sewing reference book on occassion.

  3. Gotcha! Yeah, like I said, I think I would have been really really lost had I not done some really detailed tutorials before. That’s what I love about the interwebs! πŸ˜‰ But, there are also some really crappy tutorials I’ve seen. :/ Guess ya gotta be careful no matter what!

Leave a Reply

