I have a dream…

..and it looks like a Janome 8077 sewing machine.

Since I’m still new to this whole sewing business…things like “free arms” really really excite me. I was talking with a friend at church yesterday and explaining my purse making woes on my sewing machine. She told me of the glorious invention on new machines (well, newer than 1968 anyway) called the FREE ARM. WOW!!! Wouldn’t this handy little feature make my life a whole lot easier in the sewing room?!

I’m at a point in sewing, where I don’t feel it will be a waste to buy a new more updated machine that has some features like this one does. My trusty little Singer that my mother in law gave me has been wonderful to learn on…and to see if sewing is even for me. Well…I’m comfortable saying that I really love to sew…and have sewn way more than I ever thought I would have when she gave it to me.

Anyway, a lot of the purses I’ve made would be so much better looking, and a whole lot easier…with a free arm. Also, it would be so much easier to get the extra zipper feet and other parts from a machine that is currently sold on the market. πŸ˜‰ I’ve run into that problem with the singer…can’t find any extra goodies for it. 😦 Extra goodies are always a good thing ya know. πŸ™‚

So…I think I might have to take a trip to the sewing store and try this gem out! And then one day sooner than later..maybe splurge on it! And then maybe one day splurge on a serger. And then maybe one day splurge on a giant cutting table. And then maybe one day splurge on a fabric cabinet. And then…..well, you get the point.

Just gonna start with the sewing machine. πŸ˜‰

 

If you have any other suggestions for a great sewing machine please let me know. I don’t want your basic run-of-the-mill-Walmart-sells-it sewing machine. But I don’t want to take a loan out either. πŸ˜‰

So far, this is the one I’ve got my eye on…..

2 thoughts on “I have a dream…

  1. Love your post!! I think you are ready for a better, newer machine. It’s obvious that you love sewing and it’s not just a passing whim πŸ™‚ I say, if you have the money and you’re getting the go ahead from your hubby… go for it! A gifted seamstress needs a good – not that your singer isn’t good, but it’s outdated – machine. Oh, the possibilities that await! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

