How a beginner copes :)

I just want to address quickly “how” I have been teaching myself to sew. I kind of just dived right into it without looking back. My mother in law gave me her old sewing machine. I wouldn’t have it any other way either. It’s an old Singer 237 machine. It’s from 1968. It has been very easy to learn on. There isn’t a computer you have to learn in addition to sewing. πŸ˜‰ There isn’t 1000 different stitches. There is a straight stitch, and a zig zag. Good enough for me. (for now anyway ) :p I have found so many helpful blogs along the way, most of which I’ve been directed to through pinterest. πŸ™‚ I found the essentials that I would need from one blog. I watched a million videos on youtube on “beginner sewing”. I’ve quite literally been all over the web reading about sewing terms, sewing “notions”, and different fabrics. All the info in the world, can not compare to the actual experience you gain when you actually just start sewing. After practicing sewing a straight line on a piece of paper (no thread), I was ready to go. Or so I thought. My first several attempts at simply sewing a straight line on my pillow case were quite frustrating. I thought for sure “something” was wrong with the machine. :/ Umm…no Nichole. The machine is quite fine, you on the other are not. πŸ˜‰ I quickly discovered that it really helps to have the presser foot in the down position when you are sewing. While this may seem like “DUH” to most people that have been sewing for years, (okay weeks) Β it was something not so obvious to a beginner. Nothing that I had read or watched, including my manual told me to do this. Now, just a few weeks into sewing, it seems quite obvious. Anyway, you live and learn. So, for any other newbies out there that may have just a ton of thread nesting up underneath your fabric…this may be why and first check your presser foot! Ha! As I write this post, I am a couple of weeks into my learning to sew journey. I have very quickly fallen in love with sewing. It gives me quiet time. Time to create. Time to “iron”…which has also been a learning experience! haha! The whole process is just amazing to me. Creating “something” from scratch is really rewarding. The only problem I’m having, is that I have a hard time stopping. Once I start a project, I don’t finish until I get done. Now, I realize when I start doing more elaborate projects, I will have to stop. But for now, I can always see the end in sight, and I just can’t quit. While this normally would be a good quality, and really it is, the problem lies in the dust building up on my furniture. πŸ˜‰ Must stop sewing and clean the house! So far, I have made a bib, two purses, and a lunch bag. I have found all my patterns either for free on some amazing blogs, or else purchased for fairly cheap on etsy or some other sewing site. I’m looking forward to my next bag I’m going to make. It’s really HUGE though, I wasn’t quite aware of just how big it is when I bought the pattern. So…I need quite a bit more fabric. Once I can find some that I really love, I’ll get started on that. In the mean time, I’m going to make some bibs, and if they turn out decent, just might send them to some mommy friends. πŸ™‚

One thought on “How a beginner copes :)

Leave a Reply

